Through the Skills Awards for Aboriginal Youth, the Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) and the Canadian Council of Forest Ministers are proud to jointly recognize and celebrate selected Aboriginal youth for their skills development and career aspirations in the revitalized forest products industry.

These awards are given to two individuals that exemplify the qualities of strong academic standing, commitment to the revitalized forest products industry, and a demonstrated commitment to the Aboriginal community.

Eligibility Requirements

The individual:
1. Demonstrates strong academic standing; and
2. Is currently enrolled in a post-secondary study program (e.g. apprenticeship, trades, college, CEGEP, university); and
3. Demonstrates a commitment to forest sector, such as volunteering or working for the forest products industry; and
4. Demonstrates a commitment to the Aboriginal community; and
5. Is Canadian; and
6. Is First Nations, Inuit, or Métis; and
7. Is between the ages of 18–30 (proof of age required); and
8. Has not won this award in the last 3 years.

Submission Criteria and Evaluation

The nomination letter (see an example letter in appendix) should be no longer than 2 pages and must demonstrate:
1. Your full name, address and contact information (required).
2. Canadian citizenship, Aboriginal status, and age (required).
3. How you are committed to your field of study and a career in the revitalized forest industry. Applicants may wish to highlight volunteer or employment activities.
4. Your commitment to the Aboriginal community.

The submission should also include 2 reference letters:
5. One letter must be from someone in the institution that you are currently enrolled (or the employer in the case of an apprenticeship) and demonstrates your strong academic standing and current enrollment status.
6. Each letter of reference should be no longer than 1 page.

Two Awards will be offered. Each winner will receive:
• $2500
• Travel to receive the award.
(Travel for 1 or 2 people, including airfare, meals, and 2 nights’ accommodation.)
• A commemorative award.

Judges will be selected by the Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) and the Canadian Council of Forest Ministers (CCFM) Secretariat to judge the nominations. All outcomes of the judging process will be considered final.

Nominations for these awards, containing the required information as noted above, should be sent to:

Etienne Bélanger
Director, Forestry
Forest Products Association of Canada
99 Bank Street, Suite 410
Ottawa, ON K1P 6B9
Tel: 613-563-1441 ext 386
Fax: 613-563-4720

Nominations are due October 16th, 2015.

Privacy Policy
FPAC and CCFM are committed to complying with applicable privacy legislation. The information we collect from individuals will be protected in compliance with privacy laws and will not be used for any purpose other than that for which it was collected. We do not share, sell, or supply any of the personal information you supply to us to any third party.

FPAC and CCFM have designated a privacy officer. If you have any questions or concerns about our privacy policy or practices, contact:

Susan Murray
Vice-President, Public Relations
Forest Products Association of Canada
99 Bank Street, Suite 410
Ottawa, ON K1P 6B9
Tel: 613-563-1441
Fax: 613-563-4720